CASE\Carnegie Professor of the Year: Deadline April 14, 2014 for Applications

23 March 2014


TO: AASCU Chief Academic Officers

FROM: George L. Mehaffy

SUBJECT: Application Due — CASE\Carnegie Professor of the Year: Deadline April 14, 2014

The U.S. Professors of the Year awards program celebrates outstanding instructors across the country. Sponsored by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, it is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate education.

In recognizing faculty members who display superb teaching skills, the U.S. Professors of the Year program gives institutions more than just bragging rights. The awards focus attention on excellence in undergraduate teaching and provide models to which others can aspire. In the past, a number of AASCU professors have been honored at both the state and the national level.

The Carnegie Foundation and CASE will name national-level winners in four categories based on the Carnegie classification system:
• Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor
• Outstanding Community Colleges Professor
• Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor
• Outstanding Master’s Universities and Colleges Professor

Each national winner receives:
• $5,000 contributed by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
• An all-expense paid trip (airfare, meals, and two nights’ hotel accommodations) for the winner, one guest and a current or former student to Washington, D.C., for the November awards celebration
• An invitation to speak at the November awards luncheon and recognition at an evening congressional reception (members of Congress from each winner’s state are invited to attend the reception)
• National, regional and local media coverage
• An elegantly framed certificate of recognition
• An opportunity to participate in activities that highlight the importance of teaching throughout the year; these activities could include media interviews, speaking engagements, teaching forums and other events coordinated through each winner’s institution

For more information, see:


George L. Mehaffy
Vice President for Academic Leadership and Change
American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)
1307 New York Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
202 478-4672 (direct)

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: