Legislative Update – May 5, 2015

Good morning. The higher education conference committee is scheduled to meet this afternoon at 3:00 p.m. The side-by-side comparison for the higher education bills has been prepared and can be found at: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/data/revisor/sbs/ls89/sf5-o.pdf.

Also today, the Senate Finance Committee is taking up SF280, the bill that ratifies contracts and plans, including MSCF, IFO, MSUAASF and the MnSCU administrators plan. As a reminder, the House companion bill has been sent to the House floor.

Today at the Capitol

8:30 a.m.
Senate Higher Education and Workforce Development
Room: 107 Capitol
Chair: Sen. Terri E. Bonoff
Governor’s Appointments to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities: John Cowles
Governor’s Appointments to the Minnesota Higher Education Facilities Authority: Michael Ranum and Nancy Sampair

8:30 a.m.
Senate Finance
Room: 112 Capitol
Chair: Sen. Richard Cohen
S.F. 666-Franzen: Business organizations and limited liability companies conversion requirements modification; conversion of corporations and limited liability companies repeal.
S.F. 1308-Rest: Public finance provisions modifications.
S.F. 362-Anderson, B.: Veterans Honor and Remember Flag designation as a symbol of recognition and honor for fallen military service members.
S.F. 1973-Carlson, J.: Corrections department claims settlement appropriation.
S.F. 280-Metzen: Labor agreements and compensation plans ratification.
S.F. 2056-Sparks: Workers compensation advisory council recommendation adoption and federal conformity for inpatient hospital payments.
S.F. 455-Sieben: Election administration; elections emergency planning task force; Uniform Faithful Presidential Electors Act; automatic voter registration; right to vote restoration; early voting; redistricting population; appropriations.
S.F. 1398-Pappas: Omnibus retirement bill.
S.F. 698-Dziedzic: Environment and natural resources trust fund appropriations; legislative-citizen commission on Minnesota resources provisions modifications.
H.F. 303-Cohen: Omnibus legacy appropriations bill

10:00 a.m.
House in Session

11:00 a.m.
Senate in Session
Special Orders:
S.F. 239 (Eaton) Crime of financial exploitation of vulnerable adult addition to definition of designated offense in forfeiture laws
S.F. 1478 (Dziedzic) Interstate compact on juveniles repeal
S.F. 1553(Wiklund) Human services policy provisions modifications; tobacco inspector staff unmarked vehicles use authorization; individuals committed by tribal courts cost of care cost requirement modifications; cultural and ethnic communities leadership council establishment
S.F. 1413 (Kent) School bus trespassing crime and criminal penalty imposition
S.F. 674 (Marty) Personal care products containing microbeads sale prohibition
S.F. 1270 (Pappas) Sex trafficking offenses, data privacy, evidence, crime victim protections, sex crime defenses, and criminal penalty provisions modifications and clarifications
H.F. 262 (Thompson) Contract for deed documents memorials registrar retention requirement; city, county, and town approval of plats modification

3:00 p.m.
Conference Committee on S.F. 5: higher education
Room: 500N State Office Building
Chairs: Sen. Terri E. Bonoff and Rep. Bud Nornes
CONFEREES: SENATE: Bonoff; Miller; Dziedzic; Eken; Clausen – HOUSE: Nornes; Pelowski; Gruenhagen; O’Neill; Christensen
Agenda: S.F. 5-Bonoff: Omnibus higher education bill.

3:30 p.m.
Conference Committee on HF844: Education Omnibus
Room: 112 Capitol
Chairs: Rep. Jenifer Loon and Sen. Charles Wiger
House Conferees: Loon, Erickson, Kresha, Dettmer, Peterson – Senate Conferees: Wiger, Johnson, Stumpf, Dahle, Pratt
Agenda: HF844 Conference Committee – Side-by-Side Review and Discussion

Looking Ahead

Thursday, May 7
8:30 a.m.
Senate Capital Investment
Room: 107 Capitol
Chair: Sen. LeRoy A. Stumpf
S.F. 1784-Rest: Needs of hearing-impaired people capital improvement projects inclusion requirement.
S.F. 1989-Stumpf: Prior appropriations for certain grants from general obligation bond proceeds modifications and corrections

9:30 a.m.
Senate Education
Room: 112 Capitol
Chair: Sen. Charles W. Wiger
Agenda: Confirmation of appointees to the Board of the Perpich Center for Arts Education (Linda Henning, Thomas Adams and Stephan Daly), the Board of School Administrators (Jean Haar and Nancy Antoine), the Board of the Minnesota State Academies (Christopher Peper) and the Board of Teaching (Jim Grabowska)

Thank you.

Melissa Fahning
Director of Legislative Communications
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
651-201-1757 (work) 612-483-3741 (cell)

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: