2015 Transfer Specialist Conference Recap

Another successful annual Transfer Specialist Conference was held this year at the Cragun’s Resort and Hotel on Gull Lake in Brainerd on September 30 and October 1, 2015 where 120 participants attended.

A session to update transfer specialists from MnSCU was held on the afternoon of September 30. Updates on Transfer Pathways, Transfer Policy and Procedures, MnTC Residency, Transfer Oversight Committee, Transfer Review/Appeal Process, Transfer Website, Course Numbering Convention, MnTC Variation, and Reverse Transfer were provided by Louise DiCesare, System Director for Transfer and Collaboration and Shannan Ellis, Assistant Director for Transfer. Attendees were split into small groups to discuss the top three areas of importance when it comes to rules that govern transfer followed by a large group discussion.

On October 1, the Transfer Specialist Conference included both MnSCU and non-MnSCU transfer specialists. Dr. Ron Anderson, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Students Affairs, provided opening remarks and appreciation for all attendees. Chancellor, Dr. Stephen Rosenstone, also provided welcoming remarks.

A panel representing six different types of colleges and universities from Minnesota, Wisconsin and North Dakota spoke about how their schools respond to rules that govern transfer. Following the panel, there were three concurrent break-out sessions that included a variety of topics presented by a combination of MnSCU and non-MnSCU presenters. Topics included PSEO and Concurrent Enrollment; Transfer Pathways; Communicating with Students about Transfer; Competition Out, Cooperation In; Changing Paradigms within Higher Education Access: The Auggie Plan; Nursing Student Transfer; From Application to Graduation – The Transfer Student Experience; International Transfer; Promoting Transferology; and Transfer – Tools, Barriers and Opportunities.

The feedback we received emphasized the importance of group discussion, networking and learning about tools and processes from a variety of colleges and universities. We would like to thank all the presenters at this year’s conference and give special thanks to the members of the Transfer Conference Taskforce that met over the summer to help select the conference theme, plan the sessions and map out the details of the conference: Patrick Running, Carmella Gaynor, Debbie Palm and Tony Boehler.

Contact:  Shannan Ellis

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: