Legislative Updates: Legislative Leadership Announced

With a new majority in the House, the House DFL Caucus met last night and elected their top leaders for the next two years.

Speaker of the House


Representative Melissa Hortman, DFL-Brooklyn Park, will serve as the Speaker of the  House. Hortman was elected to her eighth term as a member of the House on Tuesday. She served as the House Minority Leader for the past two years.

House Majority Leader

House Majority Leader

Representative Ryan Winkler, DFL-Golden Valley, will serve as House Majority Leader. Winkler was elected to a sixth non-consecutive term on Tuesday. He previously served in the House from 2007 through mid-2015. Winkler resigned from the Legislature following the 2015 legislative session due to a move to Belgium, but has since moved back full time to Minnesota.

Senate Majority LeaderSenate Majority Leader

In the Senate, Senator Paul Gazelka, R-Nisswa, will remain the Senate Majority Leader. Gazleka was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2004 and to the Senate in 2010.

Senate PresidentSenatePresident

Senator Jeremy Miller, R-Winona, will serve as the Senate President. Miller is serving his third term. He will succeed Senator Michelle Fischbach, R-Paynesville, who became Lieutenant Governor earlier this year.


Read more…


Contact the Government Relations Team:

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: