Legislative Update: February 5, 2020

Special election results

Yesterday, voters in two legislative districts – House District 30A and House District 60A – cast their ballots in special elections to determine who will represent them in the Minnesota House of Representatives.

In District 30A, Republican Paul Novotny won the special election over his DFL opponent Chad Hobot 63.48% to 36.52%. Novotny is a 30-year veteran of the Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office, and will be sworn into office for the beginning of session, Tuesday, February 11. The House District 30A seat became vacant when State Representative Nick Zerwas, R-Elk River, resigned his seat in the Legislature effective December 6. This district includes the communities of Elk River, Big Lake, Big Lake Township, and Otsego.

In House District 60A, DFLer Sydney Jordan won the special election to fill the vacant House seat over Legalize Marijuana Now Party candidate Marty Super 87.44% to 11.49%. No Republican filed for the seat. Jordan is an environmental and union organizer who works for Save the Boundary Waters. The District 60A seat became vacant when State Representative Diane Loeffler, DFL-Minneapolis, passed away on November 16. This district includes all of Northeast Minneapolis and a small portion of the Como neighborhood. With Novotny’s and Jordan’s victories, the political makeup of the House will remain the same as it was following the 2018 election – 75 Democrats and 59 Republicans.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: